Frank Collymore Literary Endowment Competition Winners

Year	Prize	Recipients	Title of Work Presented
1998	1 st Prize	Margaret Gill	Alternate Songs from the Kingdom of the Lily
Presented March 12, 1999 in the Grande Salle		Dana Gilkes	
		Charmaine Gill	
1999	1 st Prize	Dana Gilkes	Anatomy Of a Scream
Presented Jan 7, 2000 in the Grande Salle	2 nd prize	Anthony Kellman	Wings of a Stranger
	rd	Margaret Prescod-Cisse'	A House without Windows
	Joint 3 rd Prize	Winston Farrell	Bustin' the Blues
	Honourable Mention	Trevor Yearwood	The Patchwork Boat
2000	st	James Carmichael	The Third One
Presented Jan 6, 2001 in the Grande Salle	- Joint 1 st prize	Ellyn Stanton	Opium, Advent & Communion

2001		Thom Cross	The Final Truth
Presented Jan 5, 2002 in the Grande Salle	– 1 st prize	Ester Phillips	When Ground Doves Fly
	2 nd prize	Carol Bourne	Sarabande
		Nailah Folami Imoja	
		Trevor Yearwood	
	Honourable Mention	Robert Sandiford	
		Sandra Morris	
2002	- 1 st Prize	Glenville Lovell	Mango Sweet, Mango Ripe
Presented Jan 11, 2003 in the Grande Salle		Claire Ince	Rehearsals
	3 rd Prize	Nick Whittle	Ithaka
	John Wickham Prize	Tonya Haynes	Old for New
	Special Prize	Geralyn Walkes	The Grimordeon
	Commendations	Robert Sandiford	Batik Man
		Dana Gilkes	Silence is the Mastermind

		Glenville Lovell	Stolen Dreams
	Prime Minister's Award	Winston Farrell	Poems of Island Streets
2003	1 st Prize	Winston Farrell	Barefoot on Ice
Presented Jan 10, 2004 in the Grande Salle	2 nd prize	Cherrie Jones	Burning Bush Women
	3 rd prize	Mark Jason Welch	Rainy Season Come
	4 th Prize	Robert Sandiford	Sand for Snow (vignettes)
	Prime Minister Award	Raymond Lashley	Animal Flower Cave
2004	1 st Prize	Yvonne Mary Selina Weekes	Volcano
Presented Jan 8, 2005 in the Grande Salle	2 nd Prize	Esther Phillips	Nexus
	3 rd Prize	Kerry Andre Belgrave	Prelude to the Dimensions of Silence
	Prime Minister's Award	Raymond Colin Field	The First Kill
		Mark Jason Welch	I Did Not Take
	Honourable Mention	Sonia Williams	The Passing

		Christopher White	God is a Bajan
		Michael Gilkes	Woodbine
2005	1 st Prize	Linda Deane	Cutting Road Blues: a Narrative
	(Also received the		
	Prime Minister's		
	Award)		
Presented Jan 21 st 2006	2 nd Prize	Robert Sandiford	The Next Time
in the Grande			
Salle	3 rd Prize	Nailah Folami Imoja	Colourblind
		Glenville Lovell	Ruins of a Great House
	Honourable Mention	Thom Cross	The Swimmer
		Lurline Elzing	Sonny Boy
		Anthony Hinkson	Bumba Tuk
2006	1 st prize	Kamau Brathwaite	Missa Solemnis
	2 nd prize	Margaret Gill	Machinations of a feminist
Presented Jan 6 th 2007 in			
the Grande Salle	3 rd Prize	Glenville Lovell	Bajan lovers
	Prime minister's	Colin Hope	Interrupted journey
	Award		
2007	1 st Prize	Mark Jason Welch	Ackee Season (Poetry)

Presented Jan 5 th 2008 in	Special Prize (Commendation)	Anoush Hope-Fischer	Yesterday Was a Woman
the Grande Salle	Special Award for Lifetime Achievement	William S. Arthur	The prize recognizes Mr. Arthur's commitment to Caribbean subjects and his appreciation of the dignity of common people at a time when his contemporaries often adopted the gaze of the colonizer
	Prime Minister's Award	Alvin Cummins'	for his body of work
2008	1 st Prize	Karen Lord	Redemption in Indigo
Presented Jan 10 th 2009 in the Grande Salle	2 nd Prize	Thomas Armstrong	Of Water and Rock
iii tile Graffue Saffe	Prime Minister's Award	Trevor Yearwood	The Rainbow Man
2009	1 st Prize	Karen Lorde	Best of All Possible Worlds
pPesented Jan 9 th 2010 in	2 nd Prize	Glenville Lovell	Sodom
the Grande Salle	3 rd prize	Heather Barker	The Millipede Eats the Mongoose
	Prime Minister's Award	Dr Lance Banister	

2010	Joint 2 nd Prize (No 1st prize)	Glenville Lovell	On De Block
Presented Jan 8 th 2011 in the Grande Salle	Joint 2 nd prize	Allison Cadogan	The Three Little Pigs
	3 rd prize	Austin Yearwood	Imelda
	Prime Minister's Award	Austin Yearwood	Imelda
	John Wickham Award	Delvin Howell	Off Set
2011	Joint 1 st prize	Kerry Andre Belgrave	Rearranging Inner Rooms
Presented Jan 2012	Joint 1 st prize	Austin Yearwood	Bottle Dance
	3 rd prize	Anthony Kellman	South Eastern States
	Prime Minister's Award	Anthony kellman	South Eastern States
2012	2 nd prize (No 1st prize)	Carolyn Blackman	Ars Poetica (Poetry)
Presented Jan 2013	Joint 3 rd prize	Glenville Lovell	The Assassination of Luis Posada (Prose Fiction)
	Joint 3 rd Prize	Brian Franklin	Iridium (Prose Fiction)
	Prime Minister's Award	Allison Cadogan	A Winter of Contentment

2013	1 st prize	Kamau Brathwaite	The Lazarus Poems (Poetry)
Presented Jan 2014 in the Frank Collymore Hall	2 nd Prize	Ronald Williams	The Memoir (Prose Fiction)
	3 rd Prize	Mark Ramsey	The Generation with the World in our Mouths (Prose Fiction)
	Prime Minister's Award	Ronald Williams	The Memoir (Prose Ficttion)
	The John Wickham Award	Mark Ramsey	The Generation with the World in our Mouths (prose Fiction)
	Special / Honourable Mention	Sonia Peter	Seed Under the Leaf (Non-Fiction)
2014	1 st prize	Carolyn Blackman	A difficult Age (Poetry)
Presented Jan 2015	Joint 3 rd prize	Austin Yearwood	Black Coral (Prose Fiction)
	Joint 3 rd prize	Federick Smith & Alan Smith	Dreaming a Nation (Non-Fiction)
	Prime Minister's Award	Isabel G. Hutchinson	Friday's Girl Child (Prose Fiction)

2015	1 st prize	Allison Cadogan	"The Economist (Prose)
	2 nd Prize	Glenville Lovell	"Farewell Kilimanjaro"(Fiction
	3rd Prize	Cherie Jones	"Water for the end of the world) (Prose Fiction – Short Story Collection
	Prime Minister's Award	Ahmad Desai	"Foreign Island" (Short Story Collection)
	Honourable Mention	Mark Ramsey	"Half Life of a Moth" (Prose Fiction)
2016	1 st prize	Kerry Andre Belgrave	""@bb.now/tek culture?" (Poetry)
	2 nd prize	Linda Deane	Bridgetown (Poetry)
	3 rd prize	Carolyn Blackman	"Sons and Lovers" (Poetry)
	Prime Minister's Award	Linda Deane	Bridgetown (Poetry)
	Honourable Mention	Christine Barrow	"Black Dogs and the Colour Yellow" (Prose Fiction)
	Honourable Mention	Justin Holder	"Heaven Hound" (Prose Fiction)
	Honourable Mention	Peter Laurie	"Dancing to the Music at the End of Time" (Novel)